The Prose & The Passion

Spinning (Tunes)

james-blake-retrograde

LISTENING TO MUSIC is one of my absolute favorite things to do—next to playing (and creating, and singing) music, of course. My listening sessions used to occur with greater frequency, but my days have been so full lately that I haven’t had much of a chance to check out new tracks/artists/albums.

{Well, for better or worse, I have to admit that I am more up-to-date than usual with the current hits on the radio; now that I reside on the so-called Best Coast, I’m spending a lot more time driving in my car, exposed to the strains of guilty-pleasure pop. So yes, I did just stream the new albums by Lorde and Katy Perry…}

That said, I’ve been working on program notes for upcoming projects, and the writing process (well, perhaps the act of working at my computer late at night) elicits my music-seeking tendencies. Here are a few not-so-mainstream albums that I’m really enjoying and are worth checking out:

Haim: Days Are Gone

James Blake: Overgrown

Hjaltalin: Enter 4

Also, I replayed this song by Solange over and over again when her excellent EP True came out late last year. The official music video was recently released (love this track’s old-school vibe!):

This entry was published on November 1, 2013 at 1:42 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment